The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare (Book 1)

One girl. Fifty-seven lives. Endless ways to die.


For as long as she can remember, 17-year-old Alex Wayfare has had visions of the past. Visions that seem so real they leave her breathless, feeling as if she really was onboard a ship bound for colonial America, or rising to the top of the first Ferris wheel at the Chicago World’s Fair.

But these brushes with history are not simple jaunts back in time, nor do they come without a price. Alex’s visions wrench her from her life in the present without warning, returning her with mysterious wounds and inexplicable, lasting effects. Desperate for a normal life, Alex wants to discover the meaning of her visions and get rid of them once and for all.

It isn’t until she meets Porter, a stranger who seems to know more about her than she knows about herself, that Alex learns the truth: she is a Descender, capable of traveling back in time to her fifty-six past lives by accessing Limbo, the space between Life and Afterlife.

With fifty-six lifetimes to explore, historical secrets to unlock, and hidden treasures to unearth, descending back in time becomes irresistible to Alex, especially when the same mysterious boy with blue eyes keeps showing up in each one of them. But the more Alex descends, the more it becomes apparent that someone doesn’t want Alex to travel again. Ever. And will stop at nothing to make sure her current life, her fifty-seventh, is her last.



“Beautiful prose, an intelligent plot, and a heroine as fabulous as she is unique–I couldn’t put it down!” ~ C. J. Redwine, author of the DEFIANCE Trilogy

“This novel hits so many of my sweet spots: time travel, afterlife, a treasure hunt, twists, and a romance across time. A 2014 favorite.” ~ Lenore Appelhans, author of THE MEMORY OF AFTER and CHASING BEFORE

“Buehrlen’s written a roller coaster of a novel that will have you holding on tight as you turn the pages. Get ready for ALEX to guide you on this twisty trip through time.” ~ Chris Howard, author of the ROOTLESS series

Release Date: April 14, 2015
Publisher: Diversion Books
ISBN: 9781626818477
Grab your paperback or ebook copy at your favorite retailer: